• Uncategorized

City of Rochester Recognize Black Heritage Committee Women Of Distinction

Written by on March 6, 2024

Honorees included former Monroe County Legislature president Sabrina Lamar; former Rochester City School District Superintendent Leslie Myers-Small and former Mayor Lovely Warren. Carolyne Scott Blount, founder of About Time magazine; and Rosa Wims, the first Black nurse at Rochester General Hospital, were recognized posthumously. Other honorees included Cynthia Herriott-Sullivan, former Rochester police chief; Bishop Pastor Eulah Nelson, founder of Bibleway Healing Assembly Inc. and EMN Ministries; Dr. Ruth Scott, former City Council president; Midge Thomas, philanthropist and community leader; and Dr. Alice Young, first african-American principal in the Rochester City School District. Organizers say all the honorees have significantly impacted areas such as religion, journalism, government, education and healthcare.

Source: WHEC-TV

[There are no radio stations in the database]